Broadcasting Tech Forums

User Trust Levels


This post was based on the original post on the Discourse blog here

Trust levels are a way of…

  • Sandboxing new users in your community so that they cannot accidentally hurt themselves, or other users while they are learning what to do.
  • Granting experienced users more rights over time, so that they can help everyone maintain and moderate the community they generously contribute so much of their time to.

As documented in Community Building on the Web, there is a natural progression for participants in any community.

This seemed like a great starting point for our user trust system. Thus, we offer five user trust levels . Your current trust level is visible on your user page, and a summary of all trust levels within your community is presented on your dashboard.

Trust levels on the Broadcasting Tech Forums

  • Trust Level 0 (tl0) – New user
  • Trust Level 1 (tl1) – Basic
  • Trust Level 2 (tl2) – Member
  • Trust Level 3 (tl3) – Regular
  • Trust Level 4 (tl4) – Moderator/Administrator, the only non auto promotion trust level.

Continue scrolling to read more about each Trust Level!


How to Use the Broadcasting Tech Forums

Trust Level 0 – New User

This is the default trust level granted upon sign up, meaning you have yet to earn any particular trust level. At trust level 0 your abilities are restricted for your safety, and the overal safety of the forum. This also hides some of the more “advanced” functionality of the UI so you have some time to learn how it all works.

Dont worry, it does not take much to move up from Trust Level 0!

At trust level 0 you cannot…

  • Send personal messages
  • “Reply as a new topic” (option removed from the UI)
  • Flag Posts
  • Post more than 2 hyperlinks in a post
  • Mention more than 2 users in a post
  • Post more than 3 topics
  • Post more than 10 replies
  • Have links in your profile “about me” section

Trust Level 1 – Basic User

We believe reading is the most fundamental and healthy action in any community. If a you are willing to spend a little time reading, you will quickly be promoted to the first trust level!

To get to trust level one you must…

  • Enter, and read at least 3 topics
  • Read at least 15 posts
  • Spend a total of 6 minutes reading posts

At trust level 1 you can…

  • Use all core Discourse functions
  • Upload attachments
  • Edit “wiki” posts
  • Flag posts
  • Have all new user restrictions removed!


Trust level 2 – Member

Members are users who keep coming back to your community over a series of weeks; they have not only read, but actively participated long and consistently enough to be trusted with full citizenship.

To get to trust level 2 you must…

  • Visit at least 15 days, not sequentially
  • Cast at least 1 like
  • Receive at least 1 like
  • Reply to at least 3 different topics
  • Enter and read at least 20 topics
  • Read at least 100 posts
  • Spend a total of 60 minutes reading posts

At trust level 2 you can…

  • Use the “Invite others to this topic” button for one-click onboarding of new users to participate in topics
  • Invite outside users to PMs making a group PM
  • Ignore other users

Trust Level 3 — Regular

Regulars are the backbone of your community, the most active readers and reliable contributors over a period of months, even years. Because they’re always around, they can be further trusted to help tidy up and organize the community.

To get to trust level 3, in the last 100 days…

  • Must have visited at least 50% of days
  • Must have replied to at least 10 different topics
  • Of topics created in the last 100 days, must have viewed 25% (capped at 500)
  • Of posts created in the last 100 days, must have read 25% (capped at 20k)
  • Must have received 20 likes, and given 30 likes.*
  • Must not have received more than 5 spam or offensive flags (with unique posts and unique users for each, confirmed by a moderator)
  • Must not have been suspended or silenced

* These likes must be across a minimum number of different users (1/5 the number), across a minimum number of different days (1/4 the number). Likes cannot be from PMs.

All of the above criteria must be true to achieve trust level 3. Furthermore, unlike other trust levels, you can lose trust level 3 status . If you dip below these requirements in the last 100 days, you will be demoted back to Member. However, in order to avoid constant promotion/demotion situations, there is a 2-week grace period immediately after gaining Trust Level 3 during which you will not be demoted.

Users at trust level 3 can…

  • Recategorize and rename topics
  • Access a secure category only visible to users at trust level 3 and higher
  • Have all their links followed (we remove automatic nofollow)
  • TL3 spam flags cast on TL0 user posts immediately hide the post
  • TL3 flags cast on TL0 user posts in sufficient diversity will auto-silence the user and hide all their posts
  • Make their own posts wiki (that is, editable by any TL1+ users)


Trust Level 4 — Leader (Moderators and Admins)

Leaders are regulars who have been around forever and seen everything. They set a positive example for the community through their actions and their posts. If you need advice, these are the folks you turn to first, and they’ve earned the highest level of community trust, such that they are almost moderators within the community already.

Get to trust level 4 by…

  • Manual promotion by staff only

Users at trust level 4 can…

  • Edit all posts
  • Pin/unpin topic
  • Close topics
  • Archive topics
  • Make topics unlisted
  • Split and merge topics
  • Reset topic bump date
  • Any TL4 flag cast on any post immediately takes effect and hides the target post

closed #5